Lately I have been feeling I need 48 hour days… I know it is a common feeling as you try to “climb the corporate ladder” sort to speak. (Although I don’t regard myself too much as a climber). I tend to try to manage as much stuff as I can (or can’t) and that takes a toll.

On the other hand I must say I have a team I can rely completely on. The guys whose work I administer give 110% all the time. They are proactive and full of ideas and I try to encourage that as much as I can (which brings more work and somewhat of a hassle sometimes, but I can live with that, I’d rather have a bunch of creative, “crazy” people working with me).

Thus here is mi ussal way of doing things: From 9 to 6 I try to get all things my position require me to do (managing requests takes a lot of time!) after that I feel sort of free to try and get the “extra” stuff done.

This usually yields workdays that last from dusk till dawn (with the missus complaining that I work too much… and she’s right). Even the days I decide I’ll “take it easy” I’m still online and available in case something urgent comes up.

Once upon a time I used to be on the client side, so I know what clients usually expect. Their work is their life and when doing services their work should be our life as well. People spend quite some time planning things; so the “execution” part must be as close to perfect as can be. That is our responsibility, to make sure that other people’s hard work sees “the light of day” in the best possible way.

Having said this, what happens most of the time is that development times are short. Too short actually. This usually contradicts the principles of doing the est and most creative work. There is a contradiction with ridiculously close deadlines and quality of work. I’m amazed that things go as well as they do with the short times we usually manage (our average development time is 2 days, with things spanning from a  price change to a full sitelet creation)
How to handle this? You have to learn the hard lesson of saying “no”. From time to time it becomes somewhat visible that we have “spoiled” clients, who know we deliver and thus push and push (something natural, I guess), then comes the moment when it’s necessary to step on the break for everyone’s mental sanity.

So much to do, so little time.

