My brain is still trying to process it. I’ve read around 20 articles on the subject, with different opinions and still can’t make my own.
The webcast portraying the event is available at novell’s website.

The thing is this: through god-knows-what legal resources MS and SUsE staff had made open source and proprietary patents somehow compatible. Of course this will go under serious scrutiny over the next months and some issues might rise, but the unthinkable has happened.

If Microsoft weren’t Microsoft I’d gladly say a huge step towards common sense has been made. That the OS and computer industries will benefit largely form this, that it was a bold and intelligent move. But Microsoft has it’s large personal record in taking advantage of such deals, whilst their counterparts loose enormously. The Apple Computer Inc. vs. Microsoft Corp. case comes to mind immediately.

Please list me on the sceptics list for this one.

To further support my scepticism while researching for this entry I came across an interesting entry on MS’s web, dated November 3rd, with a very subtle title: Migrate from Novell.

We have only seen the tip of the iceberg here, but something already smells fishy…

PS: Ubuntu is starting to look very interesting as a replacement for my SUsE 9.3…

Related Articles all around the web:

